President’s Message

Yew Chung Community College (YCCC) is sponsored by the Yew Chung Education Foundation, which aims to create responsible global citizens through an engaging education programme developed with an international viewpoint. The Education Foundation established its first kindergarten in 1932 and has since grown from strength to strength with pioneering new concepts being introduced by the renowned educator Dr Betty Chan Po-king who is the Director of YCEF.

YCCC, underpinned by more than 80 years of successful history and reputable experience of the Yew Chung Education Foundation, specializes in the training of early childhood educators. Today, the college is in a unique position, for it is the first self-financed post-secondary institution in Hong Kong entrusted to offer a Higher Diploma in Early Childhood Education which qualifies its graduates for all four required licenses for early childhood education in Hong Kong. Graduates of this Higher Diploma can register as Qualified Kindergarten Teachers, Child Care Workers, Child Care Supervisors and Special Child Care Workers.

Recently in May 2015, the Hong Kong Government released a report on Free Kindergarten Education emphasizing the importance of early childhood education. This has provided us with an opportunity to take another significant leap forward and respond to the community needs by providing qualified early childhood educators with a vision of creating responsible global citizens.

In addition to the specialized early childhood education programme, our one-year Diploma in University Foundation Studies (DUFS) prepares secondary school leavers to pursue tertiary education locally and overseas. We are proud of the track record of a 100% success rate in articulating the graduates of this one-year Diploma programme to tertiary education.

As a multi-cultural community, YCCC treasures its teachers and students. Our highly qualified teachers have been recruited worldwide, bringing along with them experience in different countries. Our students, who also come from various countries and nationalities, are fostered by the College in a caring environment. All teachers and students communicate in English, supported by an effective English language curriculum.

I invite you to join us, to take part in shaping the post-secondary education landscape and to achieve your goals.

 

Professor Shen Shir Ming
President of Yew Chung Community College

校長歡迎詞

耀中社區書院由耀中教育機構成立,旨在通過體驗世界觀的課程,培育學生成為勇於承擔的世界公民。耀中教育機構於1932成立首間幼稚園,其後在著名教育家、耀中教育機構校監陳保琼博士前瞻性的領導下,不斷茁壯成長。

耀中社區書院建基在耀中教育機構享譽80多年的成功教育經驗,專注培育幼兒教育人才。目前本院擁有獨特地位,是本港首間自資專上教育機構獲准開辦幼兒教育高級文憑課程,畢業生會具備四項幼兒教育專業資格,可註冊成為幼稚園教師、幼兒工作員、幼兒中心主管及特殊幼兒工作員。

香港政府在2015年5月公布免費幼稚園教育委員會的研究報告,強調幼兒教育的重要功能,我們十分認同,並將加大力度,培養更多優質幼兒教育專才,以培育新一代的世界公民,回應社會需求。

除幼兒教育專業課程外,我們還開辦一年制大學基礎教育文憑(DUFS)課程,為有志繼續在本港或海外升學的中學畢業生作最佳準備。DUFS文憑課程畢業生的成績驕人,有志入讀高等教育的畢業生的升學率為百分之一百,我們對此,深感欣慰。

本院重視教師及學生組成的多元文化團體。我們從世界各地招聘優質的老師,他們把自己從不同國家積累的豐富經驗帶進校園。我們的學生來自不同的國家和民族,在本院關愛的環境中成長。我們教授的英語課程,行之有效;所有教員及學生均擅用英語溝通和學習。

我誠意邀請你加入耀中,一同締造專上教育的新面貌及實踐你的理想。


沈雪明教授
耀中社區書院校長